This is a charming picturesque horse-shoe- shaped marina located at the head of the Deben River. Although the marina is located in Woodbridge its proper name is the Tide Mill Yacht Harbour for reasons which become obvious as you approach. Dominating the skyline of the marina are the two very distinctive white 4-storey Tide Mill buildings, considered by many to be the symbol of Woodbridge and the River Deben. Woodbridge Tide Mill may be one of the earliest Tide Mills in the UK. First recorded in 1170, operated by the Augustinian Canons, In 1536 it passed to King Henry VIII. In 1564, Queen Elizabeth I granted the mill to Thomas Seckford. It was certainly the last working Tide Mill in the UK. The wheel last turned in 1957, when the 22 inch square oak main shaft broke. In 2004, with the help of a lottery grant the Tide Mill Quay was fully refurbished and it is now open for the public to enjoy.
On the opposite shore is the site of two Anglo-Saxon cemeteries dating back to the 6th and early 7th century. One contained the undisturbed ship burial 'The Sutton Hoo' including a wealth of Anglo-Saxon artefacts of outstanding historical and archaeological significance. The site is owned by the National Trust and back in 2002 they opened a magnificent new visitor centre.
In catching up with the 21st century the marina has recently improved it’s facilities to include a brand new building housing showers, toilets and a laundry room. The yacht harbour receives some 2000 visitors a year and it can get busy in the summer. Boats that are unable to take to the ground in the river can enjoy a least depth of 2m of water inside the tidemill, but access across the marina sill is restricted to HW±1.5hrs.
The centre of Woodbridge town is a 10min walkway from the marina and it has a very good shopping centre for provisions and things. From the town you find easy access and connections by bus or rail to Ipswich.